July 11, 2007
-
We got up early today and went to the library for story time. We haven't been since I had the baby~and my sweet little Lion is out of practice! *Library behavior*
I had planned to pick up books, pay fines (
), and stay a little while, but he was really misbehaving and I started to sweat...that's my sign to leave! I feel like...why get all stressed out? We'll just go home!I am still working on my buffet and my oldest son, Lamb, pulled furniture out of the little boys' room to completely clean it out. So my living room is not a pretty sight right now.
Am I the only quirky freak who doesn't answer her door to strangers during the day? If someone calls before coming over, if I know the person, if (at the least) the living room is decent, I welcome company! But if my husband is not at home, I do not open the door to strangers. Not even women who are alone.
Yesterday, a woman knocked right as we were discovering that Pilot had a diaper emergency. I wasn't expecting anyone, so I told my son to ask (through the door), "Who is it?". He couldn't understand what she was saying, so I went to the door, still not opening it, to ask. She said she wanted to talk to me about CANCER. I said, "Well, I'm really busy with my baby right now and I'm also not even dressed yet--could you just leave your paperwork on the porch and I'll read it later?"
"Oh, I don't have anything," she replied. ??? She said that maybe she'd go to some other houses, then come back. She didn't return...I wouldn't have answered, anyways~it felt suspicious.
I think she came back today. I don't know for sure--this time, I was cooking and my oldest son looked out the window and said that there was a black truck out there again (she drove a black truck yesterday). This time, we didn't even go to the door~we just ignored the knocking. Do I sound completely inconsiderate? I am the one who lives a paranoid life, LOL!
I won the most games at Bonco last night! My first time with this group. They are some serious six-throwin' ladies!

Comments (9)
:ROTFL:
Oh no, I don't answer the door either!! I even take it one step further and HIDE OUT in the bedroom when I see someone coming up the drive. lol Once I was caught in the living room...I have no idea how they snuck up my drive without me hearing. I could see them through the curtains so I know they saw me. I just got up, gathered the kids, and went to the bedroom...like nothing was going on!! lol I'm super paranoid! We live in the boonies...nobody to hear me scream! :hammer: I did answer the door one time when a couple of older ladies came knocking...they were Jehovah's Witnesses. After I told them we are Catholic, they politely said "ok, thank you" and left. They've been back a couple of times but I haven't answered the door.
That does seem weird...her wanting to speak to you about cancer but yet had no literature! Me? I say let 'em knock! :ROTFL:
I usually ignore it, but now we are trying to sell our house. Also our garage door is always down and our blinds are shut to save energy...so people don't think we are home.
I would not answer for a stranger either. It is just not worth it these days. I watch from an unseen point and I would not hesitate to dial 911 or my mother, who lives down the street, if anything just did not seem right. Perhaps I am paranoid also but why take chances?
I always look to see who it is, but 98% of the time I'll answer the door. I was a lot more cautious when the illegals were in the area. Hubby said not to answer the door at all. Being out in the boonies hasn't changed anything, I guess cause I grew up in the country. One time, my dad (cop) called me when I was a teen, from work and said not to answer the door for anyone. Some prisoners had escaped from the local jail and were in the vicinity of our house. Nothing happened and they were caught trying to head for Houston.
"Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unaware." Hebrews 13:2. You have your faith in God and who better to tell you what to do? So don't worry about be paranoid.
Ryc: I'm really enjoying this stage with him. He's still a baby, but I wish we could pause. It is going way too fast!
Ahhh, library time with a toddler--or baby?? Not sure how old your Lion is. But my little one is nearly two and she is a monkey. A ball of energy, loves to pull books off shelves, etc. So, we are missing library time too these days. I sneak out with my oldest 2 sometimes, when Daddy comes home.
NO, I never answer the door unless I know the person; not a woman, not a child, no one. Period. And my kids know to be quiet and wait till the person LEAVES. Except for my toddler; yesterday she yelled right by the door, which caused the person to knock louder. But I still ignored it. It's MY door and I don't have to answer it!! (Typically, it is sales of some sort). Anyway...no way...I don't even answer if my husband is home; but, he does sometimes. AND, being a PJ fan, I am not always "fit" to answer the door anyway during the day.
SO glad to know I'm not the only one!!! I feel like a freak, but, I also feel safer.
Have a great day, Tea
We got a new door a couple years ago just for that very reason. So no, I don't think your a freak :big-smile: I never answer the door for people I don't know or after 9 even if dh is home.
I hate doing that! We have people always trying to sell us something and they don't take no for an answer very well. Or people asking for a ride or for money, a lot!
Nooooo, I never answer the door to anyone but the mailman. I'm the only one on this entire block (both sides) that is home during the days. So NO way do I answer the door. Nope you aren't crazy or silly. Do you realize that we are the only defense between strangers and our children during the times our hubbys are gone?
Comments are closed.