October 20, 2009

  • What's for dinner?

    Consistently cooking every evening at my house waxes and wanes...I am on a roll this week!  Sunday, I created a twist on the old baked chicken and rice standby, and used pork chop seasoning (well, I didn't think meatloaf seasoning would fly with chicken (pun!), and I had few choices) instead of Lipton's onion soup mix, then a jar of Classico 4-Cheese Alfredo in place of cream of mushroom soup.  It was so good--I was kind of surprised.  The rice tasted like broccoli/cheese/rice casserole (minus the broc), and the pork seasoning was great on the chicken!

    I am loving this cheesy Classico--I have made broccoli and cheese (simmer frozen broccoli with the Classico sauce--super easy) as a side dish, and broccoli-cheese soup (pretty much the same procedure as the side, but added more sauce, a little chicken broth, and extra shredded cheese on top).  It is "safe" for those on the Feingold diet (a preservative-free, all-natural diet for children) and I plan on experimenting with it for any recipe that requires Velveeta.

    Last night, I attempted a homemade version of Olive Garden's Zuppa Toscana soup.  I don't think I'll be eating soup and salad at Olive Garden any more, lol.  I just did what I thought made sense, then later looked on-line to see if there was a recipe available.  My recipe was almost exact--except that I used dried parsley instead of fresh kale.

    garlic chicken

                             (photo http://www.home-ec101.com/)

     

    Tonight, I am going to try out this recipe for Caramelized Garlic Chicken--it sounds delicious!  I think that we'll have roasted sweet potatoes and peas? green beans? alongside it...

Comments (1)

  • Yum. This post is making me hungry! I too have made the zuppa toscana at home, and it was good! I think I did use kale, or something like it . . . can't remember.

    Tonight we had baked, breaded fish (fancy fishsticks, ha) and corn. Oh, and string cheese for some calcium. What can I say, my heart just wasn't in it!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *