Month: February 2009

  • Need to focus!

    Two days into Lent, and I am starting over...

  • Tonight's "funny"

    Lion, four, asks, "Mommy, will you cheese me?"

    He was holding a camera...

  • barnabas_edited-1-300x158


    From Lizzie's blog:
    I thought about Barnabas and how he stood in the gap and encouraged Paul. Barnabas commended Paul to the believers when they were afraid to accept him and his conversion. Barnabas was also known for giving.

    Acts 11:23 says about him,

    “Who, when he came, and had seen the grace of God, was glad, and exhorted them all, that with purpose of heart they would cleave unto the Lord.”


    I received this award from Lizzie, and want to pass it on to everyone who has been leaving encouraging comments on my blog for the past year (or more!). You know who you are!  bethro78,
    thats_italian, homeschoolingthem, MeandMiniMe, DanielleNicole99, quilt_cats, RachelMSW, Camarige, rockchalkjhawker, brbschrm, Pearl0709, BooksForMe, brassie_88, Mrs_Sheila, rachels_ramblings, MommyinChrist, Janel64, whatsoever_things, bellclappersgarden, dianenelson, and rebekahsfair.  I do not want to leave anyone out~if you have commented in the past year, know that you are included!  Please pass the award on to those who encourage you.

    Thank you for your encouragement, and friendship!  I appreciate you all, and am thankful that we have met and become friends through our blogs. 

    These are the rules:

    *Link back to the person who gave you the award.

    *Use the Dusty Frame graphic (leaving her blog address on it)

    *Share it with anyone who encourages you whether or not their blog is “spiritual”.

    *Share this explanation

    “Barnabas worked with the Apostle Paul.
    We remember him for his encouragement and generosity. In this spirit, I’d like to let you know that you are a Barnabas in my life. Thank you!”

  • Terrorist Attack on 9-11-08?

    Read on--my question, of course, is WHY hasn't this been all over the media?!

    http://www.mudvillegazette.com/031519.html

     

  • Question:

    I am looking for advice on the Tracfone and Virgin phones~my cell phone contract is up soon, and I want to change to the cheapest phone possible (to be used only for urgent or emergency situations).  Thanks in advance!

    ;) Kat

     

  • Gayla Long has the patience of a saint!

    I have about three channels on my television--I rarely watch t.v. any more.  I get my news, weather, etc. on-line.  Today I saw a clip about Wife Swap that just made me ill (scroll down in the comments to watch).  This man, a native from England, became an American citizen.  BUT--he does not want his children to sing the National Anthem.  He had to say the Pledge of Allegiance in order to become a citizen--so, did he mean it when he said it?  Or, did he only become an American citizen so that he could try to help change America to suit himself?  It does make one wonder how many others are in our country, becoming citizens, with ulterior motives in mind.

  • Tut, tut, looks like rain...

    We have the windows open and it is very breezy today--feels nice!  If it rains too hard, I'll have to close them...  I am about to hop on the treadmill, shower, then pick up our little neighbor from school (we pick her up on Tuesdays and Thursdays).  I'll be back later tonight for a longer post...

  • Pumpkin Bundt Cake

    Books4Me asked for the Pumpkin Bundt cake link, so I thought I would make it a post for anyone else who wants to try it.  I got the recipe from recipezaar--I really enjoy that site!  You can search for a recipe, then sort them by rating, so that you try out the highest-rated recipes (I try whatever recipes I am interested in, but the highest ratings are almost sure-not-to-fail!).  Also, I read most of the reviews before I start the recipe, because sometimes people have great tips on how to proceed. 

    This bundt cake had a streusel filling that I left out.  I will definitely add it next time--this cake is fantastic!   All of my boys have been eating it--it makes a huge cake, too.  I had to change bowls as I mixed it, because I thought the batter would fit in my 2 qt. Pampered Chef mix/pour bowl.  (I knew, when I tasted the batter, that it was going to be good!)

    Pumpkin-Streusel-Bundt-Cake-46427