February 6, 2009

  • I no longer use our microwave.  Well...that's not entirely true...I have used it once in the past month.  I needed to melt butter, and all of the burners on my stove were taken.  My husband does not support ousting the microwave, so it is plugged up in the garage for now.  He pretty much uses it for popcorn.

    BUT--when the microwave popcorn bags were gone, I did not buy any more.  When I pop popcorn, I pop it on the stovetop.  (Pour in just enough oil to cover the bottom of a large stockpot, then do the same with the popcorn.  Cover, turn the burner on medium, and wait...we peek in after it starts popping, then peek again when the popping slows down).

    Out with the microwave, in with the convection oven (eventually, lol!).

Comments (9)

  • I want a popcorn popper. Remember those???

  • Your doing so great, I'm so jealous! :big-smile: 

  • What was the reason for getting rid of the microwave?  I might have missed that.  I love popcorn and it always tastes better if it isn't from the microwave.  I'd love an air popper.

  • @bethro78 - Yes--I think my boys would enjoy one!

    @homeschoolingthem - Thank you--but don't be jealous.  It's a crazy life!  ;)

    @rachels_ramblings - Have you ever seen the email that went around, about the plant that was watered with microwaved water?  I didn't completely believe it then, but my friend's mother was diagnosed with cancer last year, and her doctor did her own water experiment and said that it IS harmful.  My friend was telling me about all of these *things* that her mom has to avoid--the microwave is one...

  • @sassykat1213 - I never saw the email, but I guess I'm not really surprised.  I always tell my kids not to stand in front of it while running and I can see how the food cooked in it can't be 100% safe.  So does she have to avoid anything cooked in the mircowave or just microwaves?  I could probably get rid of it, but my husband would probably think it was just another one of those things people try to scare us with.

  • We try not to use the microwave either...I've enjoyed a hot air popcorn popper from Walmart, I can put what I want on the popcorn, sometimes I make half butter and half evo on top, then a little garlic powder and parmesan..  Hm. Hm Good!

  • http://www.apricotsfromgod.info/microwaves.htm

    You might have to copy and paste this, but it has more information and VERY detailed information as to what microwaves do. I managed to boot our microwave some years ago, but I was over ruled after a few weeks and it was brought back in . I'll have to give it another try! Good for you! :celebrate:

  • @rachels_ramblings - Both--they got rid of the microwave completely...  The link that brassie_88 left has a lot of information--you might want to show it to your husband (I am going to show it to mine!).  :)

    @brassie_88 - Thanks for the link!

  • Wow, I had not heard about this. Interesting. Definitely need to research it.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment