February 7, 2009

  • And now, I have to go clean the kitchen...

    Tonight, I learned something.  Don't buy "traditional" canned salmon, unless you want to pick out the bones and eyes.  Gross.  Although, maybe some people eat the entire can?  I have no idea.  I bought canned salmon on sale a month ago, and decided to make salmon cakes tonight.  After I removed all of the bones, I put it in the food processor with onion, celery, cracker crumbs, eggs, and garlic powder.  I mixed in a few tablespoons of lime juice, and sour cream instead of mayo (we're out).  Three out of four children ate the fried salmon cakes--Pilot, our two-year old, surprised me by eating them.  I thought he would eat a sandwich with Sailor (6-year old--he has turned into a very picky eater...I was indulging him, but cannot any longer--it's impossible when on a food budget!).  I also made a sour cream sauce--I have a Sam's tub of sour cream to use before the expiration date--I added lime juice and capers--the boys devoured it!  It was really good on top of the crunchy cakes.

    I just did a search on "pumpkin bundt cake" and found one that uses 8 ounces of sour cream--perfect!  Tomorrow night, we are having baked potatoes for supper--hopefully we'll use the majority of the sour cream...(I am really trying not to waste food--this grocery challenge helps in that, as I only buy exactly what we need). 

    Have a wonderful evening, everyone!

     

     

     

Comments (10)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment